top of page

Summer Trends Alert: The July Edition.


At the moment, style and 'what's in' is the last thing on my mind. These days I'm either in joggers or a bikini. There's no in-between. But I thought it was important for me to understand where I stand with fashion once this whole pandemic is over, whether that be in a couple of weeks or months.


Shopping for new clothes at the minute is something either someone won't stop doing, or if you're like me, will go to do but will end up hesitating at the checkout. The thoughts of needing to save money, asking myself if I really need it or if it's worth it will spiral and I'll complete ditch the situation. So, with all that in mind I thought to myself ways in which I can revamp clothes already in my wardrobe or buy pieces that will be staples for a long time.


The Revamp.


Luckily for myself I spent 5 years of my education in fashion and textiles so I have an idea on how to completely change a piece of clothing into something new. But not everyone has that advantage and I understand. Scrolling through Instagram and ,yes, TikTok, people are coming up with easy and affordable ways on how to change items of clothing. My personal favourites, the bleach and dyes. I am loving the whole one leg bleached on a pair of jeans and the best part is that it is so easy to do. I can't say I've done it myself, but I definitely want to give it a go soon. There are so many ways it can be worn and I haven't seen a bad one yet. I am also loving the tie dye vibe that's resurfacing. Tie dye is definitely one of those trends that surfs fashion in my option, kind of like the plain white tee and jeans. This is a time it caught the wave and it's riding just fine. Again, I haven't done it but I feel like it will definitely be something I do soon. Hopefully with my friends when we get beck to uni in September (it can not come quick enough.)


Work with what you've got.


I hate the whole wear it once and bin it. It's not ethical and just not affordable. I think it's good to be able to have something that will go with everything as well as stay in fashion. A blazer in my opinion is key. It can be dressed down with a tee and jeans, or dressed up with a belt and heels. Versatile and always on trend. Looking at Vogue this month the trends they suggest are defiantly something we all have in our wardrobes. All white outfits will be key this season and can be done by anyone. Affordable and affective. A white blouse is also coming back and I feel we all have one hiding in the wardrobe from 2016. So, let. It. Free!

Throwaways are out and keep sakes are in. The Spring Summer 2020 runways displayed trends we can all achieve. Button downs, the little black dress and suiting and booting are a few of my faves and are easy to achieve. As well, it's more than likely that we all have one of these things in our wardrobes ATM.


Consider Staples and Trends


Alexander McQueen displayed many of the trends mentioned above in their Spring Summer 2020 Runway back in 2019. The all white looks and leather suits made statements and proves the point that this seasons fashion trends can be easily translated into our everyday looks. Leather look blazers can be found every wear now and are definitely something to consider as a staple. I LIVE in mine!


Alexander McQueen Spring 2020 Ready-to-Wear. Source: Vogue.com


Linen looks are very much something to consider in summer. As well as it reflecting class, it can be cooling during the summer heat. Linen trousers in my opinion are the one and they can be worn with pretty much anything. Prada showcased the need for linen in their Spring Summer 2020 runway. The most important thing, the look of their linen can be found in a lot of affordable high street stores during this time of the year.


Prada Spring 2020 Ready-to-Wear. Source: Vogue.com


The final trend that was plastered all over last Fashion Week was the return of the '90s. Pretty much every trend mentioned on here was developed in the 90s. It's for sure the #1 trend this year and I think it will be for a very long time. Clean lines, bold colours and mixes of prints and patterns are ones to look out for and being able to apply these to your wardrobe will secure a definite win this season.



Balmain Spring Ready-to-Wear. Source: Vogue.com



The Recap


An overall view of this season is to understand your staples and recycle, redesign and re-love. Personally I love it. Fashion is always in a cycle of repeating history, and stuff you love will always come back. But I also believe fashion is not just one trend at one time. We all like and love different pieces and it's important to embrace what you feel comfortable in as well as confident. Trends are set by making statements and it's important to state who you are, even if this is expressed through clothing. Understanding your style and what looks good on you is something we all desire, but stepping out of your comfort zone a few times could help you achieve that desire quicker than you thought.


So if you're going to take anything from this it's to love what's already in your wardrobe, be adventurous, but more importantly, love the clothes you wear as well as yourself in them.


Comments


bottom of page